My Friends on Blogosphere

25 June, 2011

Suspicious Mail from Gmail Security Team


I recently received this E-mail from a group claiming to be google security team and that they are mailing all accounts to confirm if they IDs are active and if you do not reply to the mail your account will be shut down. And when you reply back to initial mail, an automated mail delivery services delivers you another mail asking you to compulsorily share your account details including your PASSWORD. Now now why would google do that.
I did my bit of research and found that there have been mails from other Ids as well .
First they started with gmailteam_cs@inbox.lv, and to make it look more genuine the same mails are now sent by gteamsecurity01@gmail.com and few others. 

So my dear fellas BEWARE!! do not reply to any such mails. Hope Google realizes this at the earliest and takes an action.
In any case, below is the entire text of the mail


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: GTeam Security01
Date: Sat, Jun 25, 2011 at 10:19 PM
Subject: Gmail! Account Update Re: Gmail! Account Update
To: XXXXX@gmail.com




Dear Account User,


Thanks for replying to the Security Alert Update message . Following
your response,you will have to update your account below so that we
will know that it's a presently used account.This Email is from Google
customer care and we are sending it to every Gmail accounts owner for
safety. We are having congestion due to the anonymous registration of
Gmail accounts so We are deleting all unused Google accounts to create
more space for new accounts. To prevent your account from closing ,
You have to click on your reply button to reply back to this message
and then you fill the information below.


* Full Name * :


* User Name * :


* Password * :


* Year Registered * :


* Country Or Territory * :


Do you use Gmail with this account ?* Yes / No
Do you use orkut with this Google Account ?* Yes / No
Do you use Blogger with this Google Account ?* Yes / No


 After following the instruction above, your account will not be
interrupted and will continue as normal. Thanks for your attention to
this request.


Warning!!!
 Account owner that refuses to update his or her account within Seven
days of receiving this warning will lose his or her account
permanently.


We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your cooperation and
understanding looking forward to hearing from you..


Sincerely,
The Google Team
©2011 Google - Google Home - Privacy Policy - Terms of Service